Skip to content

6 Months Cancer Free

July 17, 2010

Digital rectal exam

I am happy to say I have been cancer free for 6 months as of Thursday (15 July). To be perfectly honest, I almost forget I had cancer. At this point, the only real reminders of my cancer fun are the scars all over my stomach.

I am feeling really good, but put a couple pounds back on ye ole chassis. Erin attempted to break me today with a “brick” (22 mile ride + 4 mile walk/run). I bonked on mile 15, and never really recovered. This had the effect of turning my 6 mile walk/run, into a 4 mile walk/run). To be perfectly honest, I don’t think I did much running at that.

I have been swimming, and finally broke down and bought a wetsuit for some open water swimming (I am really tired of doing laps in the pool).

If all goes well, I plan to do my first triathlon on 15 August. While I am concerned about making my triathlon ambition public on this blog, I figure the announcement might help drive me on the days when I feel wimpy and unmotivated. Either way, I am fulfilling the prostate cancer survivor obligation to complete a triathlon.

Since I just mentioned prostate cancer, and due to the fact that I posted the DRE “finger” picture (see right), I will take this opportunity to shame you men into getting your check up.

So, why are you waiting? Please go get your Digital Rectal Exam (DRE), and your Prostate Specific Antigen (PSA) test.

LADIES ONLY – okay, let’s face it, you need to make sure your man goes in to get his exams. Guys aren’t that bright, and don’t really understand the potential problems that accompany Prostate Cancer. I don’t know how much more blunt I can be about this. Prostate cancer kills. Catching it early increases the potential for overall survival, but, more importantly, it offers a greater chance for Impotence and Incontinence (I&I) recovery. While your man thinks he’s a “big deal” now (strutting around like the master of the universe), wait to see how proud he is when he’s wearing a diaper and can’t perform (if you know what I mean by the word “perform”). It’s up to you to help get him motivated and in to the doctor NOW!

Anyway, prostate cancer is completely survivable. Don’t be stupid – get tested!

No comments yet

Leave a comment